Belle Vue Young Guns Target U-21 Glory


Belle Vue are proudly backing their two British Under-21 representatives, Dan Bewley and Jack Smith, in Wednesday night’s Championship Final in Poole where they hope to secure title glory writes Hayley Bromley

Image Credit Ian Charles

Bewley was amongst only six riders to be seeded straight through alongside Liam Carr, Max Clegg, Adam Ellis, Robert Lambert and the defending 2016 British U-21 Champion Josh Bates.
Smith meanwhile was selected to contest the Semi-Final at Peterborough’s East of England Showground on April 11 where he battled his way to 10 points, and a well-earned spot in the Final.
He said: “I was a bit concerned I’d miss the meeting because I crashed at Glasgow the Saturday before and sustained a minor arm injury; I pulled out of the rest of that match on medical grounds.
“As it turned out it wasn’t so bad, and I didn’t want to miss out on the rest of the weekend’s racing so I was back with the Tigers the next day at Scunthorpe where I scored a couple of points.
“After that I was really pleased with my performance at Peterborough. I scored 10 points and comfortably qualified for the British Under-21 Final. I’m really looking forward to that meeting.
“There were a few things on the night which, had they gone differently, I might’ve gone on to win overall. But that’s speedway and I’m not too disappointed. I did what I went there to do.

“I feel it’s been a good start to the season for me so far. I only rode in the National League last year which was a bit easier than the Championship and Premiership; I’m still fairly new to those.

“It’s such a different environment. Everyone riders harder and gates quicker than ever. But I’m enjoying it. It’s making me a better rider and hopefully I can prove that in the British U-21 Final.”

Main Field: 1. Danny Phillips, 2. Max Clegg, 3. James Shanes, 4. Ellis Perks, 5. Nathan Stoneman, 6. Danyon Hume, 7. Liam Carr, 8. Adam Ellis, 9. Zach Wajtknecht, 10. Nathan Greaves, 11. Jack Smith, 12. Robert Lambert, 13. Dan Bewley, 14. Josh Bates, 15. Connor Mountain, 16. Luke Harris.

Reserves: 17. Josh Bailey, 18. Danno Verge.