A fabric collection made under license from The Robin and Lucienne Day Foundation by specialist digital print company Classic Textiles introduces six designs chosen for their enduring relevance and dynamic colourful design:
- Magnetic, available in 6 colours (dark blue, red, brown, purple, yellow and white
- Calyx, available in 5 colours (blue, brown, dark red, mustard, grey)
- Graphica, available in white Flotilla, available in 2 colours (sage and blue)
- Flotilla, available in 2 colours (sage and blue)
The designs listed above are available from both John Lewis (selected shops) and from Classic Textiles. Two new prints have been reissued this year to add to the collection, which are available exclusively to order from John Lewis:
- Silver Birch (1958), a beautiful minimal design with its inspiration taken from nature will be available in 8 colours (light blue, red, green, mustard, grey, sage, orange, beige)
- Lapis (1952) highlights Lucienne’s expert use of colour, and in particular her choice of unusual colour combinations.
Fabrics are priced at £75/m and are available at John Lewis shops in Poole, Oxford St, Cheadle, Trafford, Kingston, Glasgow and Chichester from late February.
Lucienne Day greatly admired the John Lewis ethos and with her husband Robin Day, the furniture designer, they enjoyed a long and productive relationship with the company including a 25-year period (1962 – 1987) working as design consultants to the forward thinking retailer. The couple’s coherent and consistent style, reflecting the enterprising and enlightened ideas behind the co-owned business, can still be identified in the shops today.
A current exhibition at The John Lewis Heritage Centre in Cookham entitled ‘Creation of our Corporate Character – the legacy of Lucienne and Robin Day, a Partnership Perspective’ celebrates that long and fruitful relationship. The Heritage Centre holds an archive of documents and images that chart this relationship, as well as a unique collection of Lucienne Day’s own original textiles artwork. The exhibition, which runs until March 25, is open to the Public on Saturdays, 10 – 4pm, or by appointment.